Sunday, January 23, 2011 2:30 pmcroppedCowan_5X7_300dpi_console2

“It is difficult to find enough adjectives to describe Ken Cowan’s playing.  He is simply one of the best anywhere!”
The Diapason

“Mr. Cowan’s technical mastery, expressivity, musicality, and sheer brilliance thrilled the convention audience.”
The American Organist

Ken Cowan is one of North America’s finest concert organists.  Praised for his dazzling artistry, impeccable technique and imaginative programming by audiences and critics alike, he maintains a rigorous performing schedule which takes him to major concert venues across America, Canada and Europe.

A native of Thorold, Ontario, Canada, Mr. Cowan received the Master’s degree and Artist Diploma from the Yale Institute of Sacred Music, studying organ with Thomas Murray.  Prior to attending Yale, he graduated with a Bachelor of Music degree from the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia where he studied with John Weaver.

Mr. Cowan is Assistant Professor of Organ at Westminster Choir College of Rider University in Princeton, NJ, where he was awarded the 2008 Rider University Distinguished Teaching Award.  Previous positions have included Associate Organist and Artist in Residence at Saint Bartholomew’s Church, New York City, Assistant Organist posts at St. James Episcopal Church, the Church of Saint Mary the Virgin in New York City, and Saint Clement’s Church in Philadelphia.  He has also been on the roster of Associate Organists for the famous Wanamaker Grand Court organ in Philadelphia.


Marche Heroïque            Herbert Brewer (1865-1928)

The Soul of the Lake, Op. 96 No. 1            Sigfrid Karg-Elert (1877-1933)
from Pastels from the Lake of Constance

Fantasia in F minor, K. 608            Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

Variations sur un Noël, Op. 20            Marcel Dupré (1886-1971)

Allegro Vivace, from Symphonie V, Op. 42 No. 1            Charles-Marie Widor (1844-1937)

Six Canonic Etudes, Op. 56            Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
No. 4 in A- flat major
No. 3 in E major
No. 5 in B minor

Naïades, from Pièces de Fantasie Op. 55

Final, from Symphonie III, Op. 28            Louis Vierne (1870-1937)

Tickets: $12

Tickets available at the door at 1:30 pm.

Welcomed by